Daily Racing Form

Bally's Las Vegas

NHC Info

Racetracks, casinos, OTBs: For more information on becoming a qualifying site for the Daily Racing Form / NTRA National Handicapping Championship, contact Fritz Widaman at (859) 422-2647 or via email, fwidaman@ntra.com

NHC



Latest News

NHC LeaderVirginia man wins NHC
By DAVE TULEY - Posted 1/27/07

LAS VEGAS - Stanley Bavlish, 54, of Virginia Beach, Va., won the $400,000 first-place prize in the eighth annual Daily Racing Form/NTRA National Handicapping Championship at shortly after 5 p.m. Pacific time at the Bally's race book here Saturday.

- Final 2006 NHC standings

Columnist leads late at NHC
By DAVE TULEY - Posted 1/27/07

LAS VEGAS - Heading into the stretch run of the $836,750 Daily Racing Form/NTRA National Handicapping Championship on Saturday, Bill Handleman was leading the field of 254 players.

Bulgarian native leads NHC
By DAVE TULEY - Posted 1/26/07

LAS VEGAS - Tchavdar Milanov, a 48-year-old native of Bulgaria, led after Friday's first day of the $836,750 Daily Racing Form/NTRA National Handicapping Championship at the Bally's race book.

Horse owner early NHC leader
By DAVE TULEY - Posted 1/26/07

LAS VEGAS - A field of 254 broke from the gate Friday morning in the eighth annual Daily Racing Form/NTRA National Handicapping Championship, competing for the $400,000 first-place prize out of a $836,750 purse.

Eeny, meeny time
By MIKE WATCHMAKER - Posted 1/26/07

LAS VEGAS - After having to be a bit creative - to put it diplomatically - in choosing the eight mandatory races for the first day of the DRF/NTRA National Handicapping Championship, the selection committee had the opposite problem Friday when it came to the races for the final day of the contest on Sat

Easy job? Not so much
By MIKE WATCHMAKER - Posted 1/25/07

LAS VEGAS - So you think it's easy picking the mandatory races for the DRF/NTRA National Handicapping Championship. All you have to do is find the eight most inscrutable races from the pool of signals offered at Bally's Las Vegas's race and sports book, and presto, you have your mandatory races.

MORE NHC NEWS



NHC Hall of Fame

Tournament Handicapper of the Year
NHC VII 2006Ron Rippey
NHC VI 2005James Michelson, Jr.
NHC V 2004Kent Meyer
NHC IV 2003Steve Wolfson, Jr.
NHC III 2002Herman Miller
NHC II 2001Judy Wagner
NHC I 2000Steven Walker

2006 Purse Distribution

Individual Prizes
Place Prize
Grand Prize $400,000
2nd Place $150,000
3rd Place $75,000
4th Place $40,000
5th Place $25,000
6th-10th Places $8,000 each
11th-20th Places $4,500 each

Team Prizes
Place Prize
Grand Prize $15,000

Day Bonuses
Day 1/Day 2 Prize
1st Place $10,000
2nd Place $7,500
3rd Place $4,000
4th Place $1,875

GRAND TOTAL $836,750

2007 NHC Qualifiers

Qualify for NHC IX, to be held in Las Vegas in January 2008, at any of the contests listed below.

Date/Location Contact
Ongoing
NHCQualify.com
NHCQualify.com
Feb. 3-May 5
Canterbury Park
Jeff Maday
952-496-6437
jmaday@canterburypark.com
Feb. 10, 2007
Tampa Bay Downs
Margo Flynn
813-855-4401x1368
mjflynn@tampabaydowns.com
Feb. 17, 2007
Tampa Bay Downs
Margo Flynn
813-855-4401x1368
mjflynn@tampabaydowns.com
Feb. 24-25
Autotote Sports Haven
Don Barberino
203-946-3189
don.barberino@scientificgames.com
Mar. 3, 2007
Tampa Bay Downs
Margo Flynn
813-855-4401x1368
mjflynn@tampabaydowns.com
Mar. 10, 2007
Maryland Jockey Club/Laurel
Diana Goddard
301-470-5432
dgoddard@marylandracing.com
Mar. 10-11, 2007
Santa Anita
Nate Newby
626-574-6391
nnewby@santaanita.com
Mar. 17-18, 2007
Ellis Park
Robert Jackson
812-435-8901
bobj@ellisparkracing.com
Mar. 24, 2007
Churchill Downs
Michelle Walkup
502-636-4452
michelle.walkup@kyderby.com
Apr. 7, 2007
Arlington Park Trackside
Chris Pepsnik
847-385-7796
cpepsnik@arlingtonpark.com
Apr. 21-22, 2007
Ellis Park
Robert Jackson
812-435-8901
bobj@ellisparkracing.com
Apr. 21 - Jun. 9, 2007
Beat The Handicapper (online)
Jill Pendygraft
859-422-2679
jpendygraft@ntra.com
Apr. 21-22, 2007
Sunland Park
Steve Pedigo
505-874-5205
steve.pedigo@sunland-park.com
Apr. 28, 2007
Monmouth (Invitational)
Sophia Mangalee
732-571-5636
smangalee@njsea.com
May 4-Oct. 27, 2007
PublicHandicapper.com
Scott Carson
PublicHandicapper.com
May 12, 2007
Horsemen's Park
Dick Moore
402-734-8464
dmoore@neonramp.com
May 26, 2007
Monmouth (online)
Sophia Mangalee
732-571-5636
smangalee@njsea.com
Jun. 2, 2007
Prairie Meadows
Michelle Thompson
515-967-1319
michelle.thompson@prairiemeadows.com
Jun. 2, 2007
Royal River Racing
Ray Henry
888-299-9861
otbetting@iw.net
Jun. 16, 2007
Delaware Park
Bill Moore
302-994-2521x7136
bill.moore@delawarepark.com
Jun. 16-17, 2007
Lone Star Park
Kristen Foster
972-237-1134
kristenf@lonestarpark.com
Jun. 23-24, 2007
Belmont Park
Mike Romano
718-659-2285
mromano@nyrainc.com
June 30 - July 1
Hollywood Park
Tonya Brown
310-419-1544
tonyab@hollywoodpark.com
Jul. 3, 2007
Canterbury Park
Jeff Maday
952-496-6437
jmaday@canterburypark.com
Jul. 7, 2007
Hoosier Park
Cliff Fraser
800-526-7223x1045
cfraser@hoosierpark.com
Jul. 8, 2007
Calder Racecourse
Brant Allen
305-474-5685
brant.allen@calderracecourse.com
Jul. 14-15, 2007
Surfside Race Place
Jennifer Goodyear
858-792-4267
jgoodyear@sdfair.com
Jul. 14-15, 2007
Autotote Bradley Teletheater
Don Barberino
203-946-3189
don.barberino@scientificgames.com
Jul. 18-Sept. 5, 2007
Del Mar (Internet)
Chris Bahr
858-792-4294
chris@dmtc.com
Jul. 21, 2007
Twin Spires
Jeff Schum
502-636-4837
jschum@kyderby.com
Jul. 28-29, 2007
Del Mar Thoroughbred Club
Chris Bahr
858-792-4294
chris@dmtc.com
Jul. 28, 2007
Keeneland
Karen King
859-288-4260
kking@keeneland.com
Jul. 28, 2007
Monmouth
Sophia Mangalee
732-571-5636
smangalee@njsea.com

See the complete qualifying contest schedule